国际诈骗团伙

国际资金转移是实施全球有组织犯罪的必备工具。欧洲、北美、亚洲及澳大利亚等地的诈骗团伙制定了精心设计的复杂诈骗计划,这些计划的实施离不开国际资金转移。

盗窃身份实施税务欺诈

OFX 已助力发现和减少的一种此类计划为多个司法管辖区内的税务欺诈。此类税务欺诈涉及窃取个人信息,以便在多个司法管辖区内实施税务欺诈。税务欺诈源于数据漏洞,诈骗团伙可以通过泄露的数据获取个人信息,如个人姓名、地址、年龄、性别和电话号码。

诈骗团伙仔细分析非法访问的数据,据此选出符合退税条件的个人。确定人选后,他们就会使用合法的个人信息创建虚假身份。在某些情况下,诈骗团伙将动用当地团伙成员扮演精心选出的虚假身份,以匹配合法被盗身份的形象。其中一个示例为:John Smith,男,大约 35 岁,在美国长大。诈骗团伙将人工选出一名具有匹配背景的男性 (Sam) 以建立一个虚假身份,然后以这个身份打开一个欺诈网银帐户,随后利用 John 的个人信息进行验证和身份认证。

设立了欺诈网银帐户后,利用 John 的合法个人信息处理虚构的退税,从而引导将退款支付到欺诈网银帐户。

同时,诈骗团伙在另一个国家登录了一个接收人银行帐户。此举目的在于通过使用 John 的个人信息设置的欺诈网银帐户来引导诈骗退税,然后将其跨境转移到诈骗团伙的帐户。

OFX 与诈骗团伙

2015 年,OFX 是许多国家的诈骗团伙实施上述税务欺诈的对象。诈骗团伙在设立欺诈银行帐户后,使用盗取的个人信息注册 OFX 在线外汇帐户。被盗身份用于通过 OFX 的身份验证流程。

OFX 确定了以声称没有提交申请的个人的名义进行的客户注册。在确认欺诈帐户注册后,OFX 与 ThreatMetrix 共同分析数据并与多家政府机构和金融机构密切联系,以了解所发生的情况。OFX 诈骗小组成功地确定了与个人识别的可疑帐户相关的多个欺诈应用程序。

OFX 如何暴露诈骗

ThreatMetrix 拥有全球最大的 Digital Identity Network,该网络建立在来自每月超过 10 亿笔交易的共享情报之上。在 ThreatMetrix 的帮助下,OFX 对虚假帐户设置的过程进行了彻底的回顾性审查,并且能够了解静态被盗凭证之外的信息。通过分析所有动态信息(包括但不限于 IP 地址、用于注册帐户的设备以及与这些帐户相关联的电子邮件地址),ThreatMetrix 能够帮助 OFX 确定诈骗团伙的数字身份。

OFX 调整 ThreatMetrix 配置文件后,诈骗团伙需要修改其操作被盗个人信息的方式,以企图实施帐户侵权。通过利用来自 ThreatMetrix Network 的联系和关联信息,OFX 能够识别诈骗团伙的交易。这项审查让 OFX 能够帮助政府机构确定其他受害者,并以行业工作组成员的身份协助确定 50 多名受害者向相关政府机构返还约 175 万美元。

持续加强身份评估

OFX 继续与 ThreatMetrix 合力抵抗诈骗活动的威胁。利用 ThreatMetrix 提供的大量信息协助 OFX 跟踪设备和其他数字属性,包括渠道、用例、位置、所提供的凭证或个人识别信息。

长远成功

自实施以来,ThreatMetrix 通过利用以下主要功能帮助 OFX 预防了诈骗,并在日益增长的在线借贷行业中持续处于领先地位:

  • 深度连接分析技术让 OFX 更清晰地了解异常交易。诈骗犯通常试图藏匿于身份及位置伪装服务背后,如隐藏的代理、VPN 及 TOR 浏览器。ThreatMetrix 可以准确地检测出这些技术的使用,且在诈骗犯使用代理及 VPN 的情况下,让 OFX 可以查看真实的 IP 地址、地理位置及各交易的其他属性。
  • Digital Identity Network 分析数十亿笔交易,从而使 OFX 能够访问与新帐户相关联的识别属性、特征和行为。
  • ThreatMetrix 的分层方法通过与设备、威胁和角色(是设备、历史记录、交易、电子邮件及其他属性的组合)相关的信息来验证最终用户的真实数字身份;ThreatMetrix 的实时决策分析平台则提供有助于区分可信任的 OFX 客户与潜在诈骗犯的额外情报。

“利用 ThreatMetrix 提供的技术,OFX 能够更有效地检测、阻止、预防和调查试图通过 OFX 平台实施的诈骗和犯罪活动。”

Deb Wood

安排咨询

立即开始
关闭按钮

Powered By OneLink

International Fraud Syndicates

The international transfer of funds is an essential tool for global organized crime. Fraud syndicates with links to Europe, North America, Asia and Australia have elaborate and complex fraud schemes that rely on sending funds across international borders.

Identity Theft for Tax Fraud

One such scheme that OFX has helped to uncover and reduce is multi-jurisdiction tax fraud. This involves the theft of personal information for the purposes of making fraudulent tax claims in multiple jurisdictions. It begins with a data breach, which, in turn, allows Fraud Syndicates to gain access to personal information such as a person’s name, address, age, gender and phone number.

The Fraud Syndicates carefully analyze illegally accessed data to select individuals who are eligible for tax refunds. Once selected, they create false identities using legitimate personal information. In some instances, Fraud Syndicates will use local syndicate members to establish a false identity who are carefully chosen to match the profile of the legitimate stolen identity. An example of this might be, John Smith, a male in his mid-thirties who grew up in the United States. The Fraud Syndicate would hand select a man of a matching background (Sam) to set up a false identity that is then used to open a fraudulent online bank account using John’s personal information for verification and identification purposes.

Once the fraudulent online bank account is set up, John’s legitimate personal information is used to process a fictitious tax refund, directing the refund to be paid into the fraudulent online bank account.

Meanwhile, the Fraud Syndicate has set up or established access to a recipient bank account in another country. The goal is to direct the defrauded tax refund through the fraudulent online bank account set up using John’s personal information and then send it internationally to the Fraud Syndicate’s account.

OFX vs. the Fraud Syndicate

In 2015, OFX was the target of Tax Fraud of the kind described above in a number of countries. The Fraud Syndicate, following the establishment of fraudulent bank accounts, used stolen personal information to register with OFX for an online foreign exchange account. The stolen identity was used to pass OFX’s ID verification processes.

OFX identified a customer registration in the name of an individual who stated they did not submit the application. Upon confirming the fraudulent account registration, OFX worked with ThreatMetrix to analyze the data and also liaised closely with a number of government agencies and financial institutions to uncover what had happened. The OFX Fraud Team was successful in identifying multiple fraudulent applications linked to the suspect account that the individual had identified.

How OFX Exposed the Fraud

ThreatMetrix has the world’s largest Digital Identity Network built on shared intelligence from over a billion transactions per month. With the help of ThreatMetrix, OFX conducted a thorough retrospective review of the establishment of the false account set-up and was able to go beyond the static, stolen credentials. By analyzing all dynamic information, including but not limited, to IP addresses; devices utilized to register the accounts; and the email addresses associated with these, ThreatMetrix was able to help OFX identify the digital identity of the Fraud Syndicate.

With adjustments to the OFX ThreatMetrix profile, the Fraud Syndicate needed to modify its modus operandi with the stolen personal information to attempt an account takeover. By leveraging information around links and associations from the ThreatMetrix Network, OFX was able to identify transactions coming from the Fraud Syndicate. This audit allowed OFX to help government agencies identify additional victims, and, as part of an industry working group, assisted in the identification of over 50 victims, returning approximately $1.75 million to the relevant government agency.

Ongoing Enhanced Identity Assessment

OFX continues to work with ThreatMetrix to combat the threat of fraud activity. Leveraging a substantial pool of information offered by ThreatMetrix, assists OFX to track devices and other digital attributes, regardless of channel, use case, location, presented credentials, or personal identifying information.

Long-Term Success

Since implementation, ThreatMetrix has helped OFX prevent fraud and continue to lead in the growing online FX industry by leveraging the following key capabilities:

  • Deep connection analysis technologies gives OFX a clearer view of unusual transactions. Fraudsters often attempt to hide behind location and identity cloaking services such as hidden proxies, VPNs and the TOR browser. ThreatMetrix accurately detects the use of these technologies and, in the case of proxies and VPN, allows OFX to see the true IP address, geolocation and other attributes of each transaction.
  • The Digital Identity Network analyzes billions of transactions, allowing OFX to access identifying attributes, characteristics and behaviors associated with new accounts.
  • The ThreatMetrix layered approach validates the end user’s true digital identity through information related to devices, threats and persona (combination of device, history, transactions, email and other attributes), while its real-time decision analytics platform provides additional insights to differentiate trusted OFX customers from potential fraudsters.

“With the technology that ThreatMetrix has provided, OFX is able to more effectively detect, deter, prevent and investigate fraudulent and criminal activity attempting to go through the OFX platform.”

Deb Wood

Schedule a Consultation

Start Today
close btn