概览

uShip 采用了 ThreatMetrix 解决方案,以准确地识别诈骗犯与合法发货客户和服务提供商。由此减少了其诈骗损失,并维护了其品牌声誉。

作为最大的在线市场,uShip 能够帮助发货客户轻松找到经济实惠的空卡车运送大件货物。从大型货运公司、卡车个体户到货运经纪人等采用反馈评级的服务提供商,通过竞标或接受报价赢得业务。

自 2004 年以来,uShip 促成了超过 7.5 亿美元的货运交易,500 万次出货,并注册了超过 700,000 个服务提供商。虽然 uShip 的领先市场已使货运客户能够与服务提供商建立联系,但也有可能招致诈骗犯使用被盗或欺诈身份实施网络犯罪计划。

“ThreatMetrix 已帮助降低恶意帐户、退单、被盗信用卡和勾结的风险。对我的团队来说,它是一个非常宝贵的工具。”

Shannon Scott,uShip 风险与支付高级经理

业务问题

作为在线货运先驱,uShip 面临着一系列独特挑战:首先,帐单地址和发货地址很少匹配,因为发货人经常将货物发送到帐单地址以外的目的地。这导致几乎不可能使用地址作为验证机制。第二,通过反馈评分和无偏见评估来证明的信任是交易带来风险的市场中最重要的因素之一。uShip 货运客户将宝贵(有时是无价的)货物委托给服务提供商,如果货物被他人取走,后果是很严重的。在 uShip 的前沿业务模式下,许多传统的用户验证根本无效。因此,uShip 需要制定可以识别身份、设备和凭证方面的欺诈活动的新一代解决方案,从而帮助其检测:

  • 试图与货运客户进行接触的恶意服务提供商。
  • 用于支付运费的被盗信用卡。
  • 与测试信用卡相关的活动。
  • 创建多个用于勾结的货运客户和服务提供商帐户的诈骗犯。

在具有创新平台的竞争空间中,向 uShip 用户提供优质的服务对于品牌声誉和用户忠诚度至关重要。uShip 希望使用一种解决方案在不影响合法用户体验的情况下解决其面临的挑战。

通过智能身份验证准确检测合法货运客户和服务提供商

ThreatMetrix 解决方案允许 uShip 将其知道的关于身份的信息与更广泛的全球情报(如设备特性、位置信息和行为分析)进行重叠,以确定其货运客户和服务提供商的真实身份。uShip 利用 ThreatMetrix 的以下主要功能:

  • ThreatMetrix Digital Identity Network 分析设备、位置、电子邮件地址以及全球数十亿笔交易中涉及的其他匿名个人信息之间的数万亿个连接。该数字情报允许 uShip 访问与帐户相关联的识别属性、特征和行为。企业共享的数据以及可从 ThreatMetrix 设备特性中获得的信息为每个货运客户和服务提供商建立唯一的数字身份。数字身份使 uShip 能够创建用于以更高的准确性和信度确定审批哪些货运请求的策略,因为每个交易都与该受信任数字身份进行了对比。
  • ThreatMetrix Smart ID 帮助 uShip 识别回访设备,即使在已删除或禁用 Cookies 时也是如此。根据对许多浏览器、插件和 TCP/IP 连接属性的分析,Smart ID 可产生信心度分数,通过该分数可检测来自同一个设备的多个欺诈帐户。
  • 深度连接分析技术让 uShip 更清晰地识别可疑交易。诈骗犯通常试图藏匿于身份及位置伪装服务背后,如隐藏的代理、VPN 及 TOR 浏览器。ThreatMetrix 可以准确地检测出这些技术的使用,且在诈骗犯使用代理及 VPN 的情况下,让 uShip 可以查看真实的 IP 地址、地理位置及各交易的其他属性。

“ThreatMetrix 代理穿透技术使我们能够识别可能有问题的服务提供商。”

Shannon Scott,uShip 风险与支付高级经理

安排咨询

立即开始
关闭按钮

Powered By OneLink

Overview

uShip implemented the ThreatMetrix solution to accurately identify fraudulent and legitimate shipping customers and service providers. This reduced its fraud losses and also preserved its brand reputation.

uShip is the largest online marketplace that helps shipping customer easily find empty, discounted truck space for their large-item shipments. Feedback-rated service providers, from larger trucking companies to single-truck owners to freight brokers, win business by placing competing bids or accepting offers.

Since 2004, uShip has facilitated more than $750M in shipping transactions, saw 5 million shipments posted, and registered more than 700,000 service providers. While uShip’s leading-edge marketplace has given shipping customers the ability to connect with service providers, it also has the potential to attract cybercriminal schemes using stolen or fraudulent identities.

“ThreatMetrix has helped mitigate the risk of malicious accounts, chargebacks, stolen credit cards and collusion. It’s been an invaluable tool for my team.”

Shannon Scott, Senior Manager – Risk & Payments, uShip

Business Problem

As a pioneer in online shipping, uShip faces a couple of unique challenges: First, billing and shipping addresses rarely match, as shippers often ship goods to destinations other than their billing address. This made it next to impossible to use addresses as a verification mechanism. Second, trust, demonstrated through feedback scores and unbiased reviews, is one of the most important factors in a marketplace in which transactions carry risk. uShip shipping customers entrust valuable, and sometimes priceless, cargo to service providers, and the consequences are high if shipments get into the wrong hands. With uShip’s leading-edge business model, many traditional user verifications simply do not work. Therefore, uShip needed a new generation of solution that can identify fraudulent activity across identities, devices and credentials where it can help it detect:

  • Malicious service providers trying to reengage with shipping customers.
  • Stolen credit cards used to pay for shipping charges.
  • Activities related to testing credit cards.
  • Fraudsters creating multiple shipping customer and service provider accounts used for collusion.

In a competitive space with an innovative platform, providing quality service to uShip users is critical for brand reputation and user loyalty. uShip wanted a solution to solve its challenges without impacting its legitimate users’ experiences.

Accurately Detecting Legitimate Shipping Customers and Service Providers by Using Intelligent Identity Authentication

The ThreatMetrix solution allows uShip to overlay information it knows about identity with wider global intelligence such as device profiling, location information and behavior analytics, to know with certainty who its shipping customers and service providers really are. uShip leveraged the following key ThreatMetrix capabilities:

  • The ThreatMetrix Digital Identity Network analyzes trillions of connections between devices, locations, email addresses and other anonymized personal information from billions of transactions worldwide. This digital intelligence allows uShip to access identifying attributes, characteristics and behaviors associated with accounts. Data shared by organizations, along with information available from ThreatMetrix device profiling, establishes a unique Digital Identity for each shipping customer and service provider. Digital identities enable uShip to create policies for deciding which shipping requests to approve with higher levels of accuracy and confidence, because every transaction was compared against this trusted digital identity.
  • ThreatMetrix Smart ID helps uShip recognize returning devices even when cookies are deleted or disabled. Derived from the analysis of many browser, plug-in, and TCP/IP connection attributes, Smart ID generates a confidence score that detects multiple fraudulent accounts from a single device.
  • Deep connection analysis technologies give uShip a clearer view of suspicious transactions. Fraudsters often attempt to hide behind location and identity cloaking services such as hidden proxies, VPNs and the TOR browser. ThreatMetrix accurately detects the use of these technologies and, in the case of proxies and VPN, allows uShip to see the true IP address, geolocation and other attributes of each transaction.

“ThreatMetrix Proxy Piercing technology has allowed us to identify potentially problematic service providers.”

Shannon Scott, Senior Manager – Risk & Payments, uShip

Schedule a Consultation

Start Today
close btn